Pumpkin cupcakes

Posted: October 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

I love cake. I think I love it more than most people. I love cake so much that sometimes when I’m undecided as to whether or not I can bring myself to get out of the house, finding out that a place or party is serving cake has been the ultimate deal breaker. I have yet to meet someone who calls cake their deal breaker, but I’m pretty sure I’ll have an immediate kinship to them when I do.

However, I have very ingrained psychological barriers that keep me from baking by the book. Having grown up in a diabetic household, I just can’t bring myself to use as much sugar or butter as recipes suggest. This has led to “Myra’s hockey puck cookies,” and my “carrot bread-cake.” My family and Jimmy usually ask after I take something out of the oven, “Oh, that looks great! Is this the healthy version or regular version?” I don’t tell them that “regular version” to me is synonymous with “store-bought.”

Take the following recipe, for example, which I took from http://southernfood.about.com/od/pumpkins/r/bl40104c.htm. It got amazing reviews, which means it was probably wonderful as is. However, while I’m training myself to use as much butter as recipes tell me to when I bake, I  used an already-opened stick of butter so it wasn’t quite 1/2 cup, and cut the sugar by 1/3 cup to just one cup. I’ve learned, however, that if you cut out just a quarter of the sugar, it doesn’t hurt the recipe that much.

Pumpkin Cupcakes

pumpkin

    • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, sift before measuring
    • 1 tablespoon baking powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
    • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
    • 1/2 cup (almost 1 stick) butter, softened
    • 1 cup sugar
    • 2 eggs, beaten until frothy
    • 1 cup mashed cooked or canned pumpkin
    • 3/4 cup buttermilk
    • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg into a bowl. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy; beat in eggs. Blend in mashed pumpkin. Stir in the sifted dry ingredients alternately with the milk, blending until batter is smooth after each addition; stir in chopped walnuts or pecans. Spoon batter into well-greased and floured or paper-lined muffin pan cups. Fill about 2/3 full. Bake at 375° for 25 minutes, or until a wooden pick or cake tester inserted in center comes out clean. Frost with cream cheese frosting, whipped cream, or leave plain. Makes about 24 cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

