Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry)

Posted: October 8, 2013 in Indian
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have a general rule when I go out to eat: I try to only order food I don’t know how to make or wouldn’t normally make myself. I cheat every so often, ordering scrambled eggs at a diner when I don’t feel like ordering waffles, but overall, I feel as though if I’m going to pay extra for eating out, I might as well get something I couldn’t have at home anyway.

eggplantUp until tonight, Baingan Bharta fell into the “things I don’t know how to make and will order in restaurants” bucket. Eggplant is ridiculously nutritious and this dish is the first one that got me to start thinking of the vegetable as anything other than obscene.

I played with this recipe and watched this chef on youtube, and made up my own creation, which actually tastes like what I’ve had at restaurants! If you’re good at withstanding spice, feel free to add more jalapeno.

1 large (and I mean LARGE!) eggplant, or two-three medium ones
2 TBSP oil
1 medium onion, chopped
1 TBSP cumin
1 TBSP salt
5 cloves chopped garlic
1 inch of ginger, chopped
1 TBSP curry powder
10 mushrooms, chopped
1/2 chopped jalapeno pepper
1/3 14 oz can of crushed tomatoes (or 2 freshly chopped)
cilantro, to garnish

(4 servings)

1. Roast the eggplant in an oven on a cookie sheet for 30 minutes at 450 degree heat.  Remove oven, wait until fully cooled, then remove skin. Chop up the eggplant.
2. Heat oil. Add onion, cumin, salt and mushroom and cook on medium heat until the onion is soft
3. Add ginger, curry powder, jalapeno pepper and crushed mushrooms. Cover the pan and cook for 5 minutes.
4. Add eggplant and stir it all in, cooking for another 5 minutes.
5. Add chopped cilantro on top when you serve.

Leave a Reply

