Banana sourdough bread pudding

Posted: October 9, 2013 in dessert
Tags: , , , , , , ,

When I was younger, my mother would get my sisters and me to finish our food by telling us, “Finish that! There are so many starving children in [INSERT POOR COUNTRY HERE] who don’t get to have that.” Somalia, Bosnia, but incidentally never the Philippines, got us to finish that one last gulp of rice and bland inky squid. Maybe that’s why I can’t stand to waste food. The older I get, the more conscious I am of the resources that I am taking up from this world that someone else can’t use, and whenever I throw out that half head of cabbage  that went moldy, I feel a pang of guilt.

So every evening, I do everything to make sure I use every ingredient in our kitchen even if it’s on the last leg of its life. Tonight that meant using up the loaf of sourdough bread we forgot to eat. Turn lemons into lemon cake, I think, so I started searching for recipes to make sourdough bread pudding. Turns out, I didn’t have the ingredients most recipes think are necessary for a good bread pudding i.e. cream, whole milk, raisins, and you know how I feel about recipes that use too much butter. So instead, I made one up, and finally got to finish the tub of vanilla bean ice cream that’s been sitting in our freezer, too.

Banana sourdough bread pudding

Four cups of stale sourdough bread (or about six slices) sliced into 1 inch cubes banana bread

1 cup soymilk
1 cup vanilla bean ice cream
¼ cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 tbsp bourbon
1 banana, thinly sliced
1 tbsp butter, and more to grease square 9 inch baking pan
3 eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9 inch square baking pan. Cover the baking pan with the bread. In a saucepan over low heat, mix all of the other ingredients. Once well mixed, turn off heat and wait for mixture to cool. Break three eggs and mix into the soup mix. Pour over the pan. The bread must be completely submerged by the mixture. Push down any pieces that aren’t. Bake uncovered for 50 minutes.

Leave a Reply

