Kimchi egg salad sandwich

Posted: October 10, 2013 in Korean, Uncategorized

I didn’t grow up eating sandwiches for lunch. In the Philippines, sandwiches count as snack food, or what you serve during “mirienda” which I think is similar to British tea-time. In fact, because my boarding school always had a hot food line during lunch where I could gorge on pierogies, pasta, or fried chicken, I didn’t realize that my heavy lunches were anything unusual until I attended my first American sleepover and we had big, generous sandwiches for lunch.

I was starving.

I learned that day that physical hunger doesn’t always line up with a cultural one. I was sated, but not satisfied. The meal didn’t seem complete without hot food. While I eat sandwiches now when I am too lazy to cook anything bigger, my afternoon turkey-and-cheese still doesn’t satisfy the way a good meal should. So today, I googled kimchi sandwiches to see what I could do with ours and found this awesome creation by Closet Cooking – a brilliant mix of hot and cold. Jimmy says it’s the best lunch I’ve made yet. I don’t eat bacon so I omitted it from my recipe and had it with turkey instead. I also rinsed the kimchi before draining it because I didn’t want my sandwich to taste just of it.

sandw

Ingredients:
2 eggs
2 strips bacon (cut into bite sized pieces, optional)
1/4 cup kimchi (drained and chopped)
1 tablespoon mayonnaise
1 teaspoon gochujang
1 green onion (sliced)
1 teaspoon sesame seeds (toasted)
2 leaves of lettuce
2 slices of bread

 

Directions:
1. Place the eggs in a sauce pan, cover with water and bring to a boil.
2. Turn off the heat, cover and let sit for seven minutes.
3. Transfer the eggs to a large bowl filled with cold water and let cool.
4. Meanwhile cook the bacon and set aside
5. Saute the kimchi in the bacon grease until caramelized, about 3-5 minutes.
6. Peel the eggs and mash to the desired consistency mixing in the kimchi, bacon, mayonnaise, gochujang, green onion and sesame seeds.
7. Assemble sandwich.
Comments

Leave a Reply

