Creamy tuna pasta

Posted: October 17, 2013 in seafood

I attended my first pro-baseball game  last night- a playoffs game no less! Though I’ve always found baseball to be one of the slower (read: boring) sports out there, the Red Sox had made it to the playoffs and were playing the Detroit Tigers at Comerica Park, which was only 40 minutes away. Jimmy, an avid Red Sox fan and New Englander, couldn’t wait to see them play, and I wanted the full American experience. So last night, I sported Jimmy’s Red Sox tee, his Red Sox cap, and we went off to see the game. If you’re a Tigers fan, it was an awesome game and given that I’m someone who easily drinks a place’s Kool-Aid, it took everything in me to not cheer for the Tigers. As a Red Sox person by affiliation, however, the game was depressing. That said, it was really hard to pay attention to either the game or the score when my knees and hands were turning to ice – a phenomenon that either no one else in the stadium shared, or their Cabrera-loving hearts were pumping more heat watching their team score than mine was. The only other pro-sport game I had been to was the Knicks vs. Celtics and I should have appreciated more how indoor sports mean centralized heating. Even in my black peacoat and hoodie, I was freezing. I nearly bought a Tigers blanket to stay warm, but I figured given that the Red Sox were already losing, that would have been poor taste in front of the love of my life. So instead, I ordered a hot chocolate and sipped slowly.

I would usually reserve heavy, cream-based dishes for when it’s winter, but given my experience last night, it seemed appropriate to have this today. Tuna and peas are two things that are always sneered at by many, and perhaps their getting left out in the cold when being chosen for dishes has developed a good friendship between them. They’re the unlikely perfect couple of savory and sweet and I was excited to use them for my dish today.

**For some reason, this dish tasted better the second day (hello, leftovers!).

Ingredients:
250 g of linguine
1 chopped onion
3 cloves of minced garlic
one can of tuna packed in oil

3/4 cup cream
3 tbsp tomato paste
2 cups of peas
1 cup shredded carrot (optional)
dash of salt and pepper

Boil the linguine in one pat. In another pan, saute the onions and garlic. Add carrots and peas until well cooked. Add tuna, then cream and tomato paste. Mix with cooked pasta.

This is one of those 'don't judge a book by its cover' dishes

This is one of those ‘don’t judge a book by its cover’ dishes

Leave a Reply

