My first brownie recipe

Posted: October 18, 2013 in dessert
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’ve become a blog-follower. It’s an interesting experience, considering that I haven’t followed anyone or anything since the Backstreet Boys split up. Ever since I started cooking, however, I noticed myself going back to the same websites and realized that many of them were bloggers, doing the same thing I was doing: trying out other people’s recipes and adapting them to make them their own. And then there I was, reading their posts, doing the same thing to mine. Very meta.

I became a fan of Smitten Kitchen, then Closet Cooking, and then a few days later, another fledgling food blog that’s become a favorite called Foolproof Living. I first  started reading her blog because she shared a close friend’s first name, but I continued to come back to her because she photographed her food so well. I don’t always copy what my favorite bloggers cook, but I search, peer, and read until I find a post that inspires me to go back to the kitchen. Sometimes it’s a beautiful shot of a perfectly toasted cheese sandwich that makes me want to cook my tandoori chicken.

Recently, Aysegul from Foolproof Living said that every food blog should have a brownie recipe, and she posted her own awesome creation. Tonight I felt up for the challenge, so I checked out a few recipes and decided to adapt this recipe  by making it slightly healthier and adding a kick of coffee flavoring.  Hope you enjoy!

1/3 cup vegetable oil brownie
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 large eggs
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup flour
1 tbsp coffee granules
1/2 cup peacans

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, mix the oil, sugar, vanilla and eggs. In another small bowl, mix the baking powder, cocoa, salt, flour and coffee. Add the flour mixture to the wet  mixture, then the pecans. Put mixture in a 9 by 9 pan. Put in the oven for 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

