Carrot banana bread

Posted: October 21, 2013 in dessert
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My eldest sister recently wrote this incredible post on what it what like to grow up as a woman in  Saudi Arabia and talking to her about it this afternoon made me think about how growing up in Saudi continues to affect the way I interact with others today. In earlier posts, I mentioned that I’ve been living outside of the Kingdom for 13 years now, and for the most part, I like to think I’ve shed the awkwardness that comes from living in a largely sex-segregated society: I live with my fiance, I have both straight and gay male friends, and I look people in the eyes when I say hello or shake hands with them. However, not until talking to my sisters about a few quirks did I think about other things that have been a bit more difficult to change: When Maintenance comes over, I ask Jimmy to be home so he can get the door and I’ll hide out in the study, and I prefer to be in a big open space or a small one with a door open if I’m left alone with a man who is not connected to, or someone I consider “practically family.” As it turns out, my sisters do and feel the same way. I don’t think all my friends who grew up in Saudi feel the same way I do, and indeed, one’s upbringing affects one person differently than it may another, simply because we process our experiences differently. I don’t feel traumatized by my experience in any way – I don’t even see my idiosyncrasies as paralyzing or frustrating the way I think I did when I was first learning how to assimilate to the United States and wished I had  more game in the dating arena as I got older. But it does give me pause to think about how I move through my daily life, perform certain actions, or look at certain situations through the lens of what I learned growing up.

On a lighter note, this recipe was awesome and healthy.

carrotcake

2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 eggs
1 cup mashed banana
1/3 cup canola oil
1 1/2 cup grated carrots

  1. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. In a small bowl, whisk the eggs, bananas and oil. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened. Fold in carrots and pecans. Transfer to a greased 9-in. x 5-in. loaf pan.
  2. Bake at 350° for 55-65 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan to a wire rack to cool completely. Yield: 1 loaf (16 slices).
Comments
  1. Charisma says:

    Mmm that looks really delicious! Love the flecks of orange you get in the cake!

Leave a Reply

