Zuchini, kale and mushroom with pasta

Posted: October 21, 2013 in Italian, pasta
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am one of those people who is always “catching a chill.” When I feel the first breeze tickle my neck around October, it fills me with so much ineffable sadness, as I see a whole winter of miserable cold ahead of me. I used to pooh-pooh well-known brands,  and it took me 13 winters in the States (in Vermont and in Michigan no less!) to realize that sometimes, particularly where the cold is concerned, those brands are worth the extra money to stay warmer than the average penguin. I bit the bullet, purchased my first L.L. Bean coat and haven’t turned back to sigh at the receipt since. This past winter, my sister bought the luxurious king-sized down alternative comforter off our wedding registry, and this morning, I could almost hear my left side sing from not being exposed to our chilly apartment. (Landlords have unreasonably set October 31 as the arbitrary date when it makes sense to turn on the heat, I think).  I actually went up to Jimmy, smiling, and said, “I am just so happy. It’s cold out and I woke up warm.” People talk about the metaphorical warmth of a happy home, but at this moment, I’m just as happy to have the physical one, too. Winter is comin’ and I’m ready.

zuchinni

I adapted this recipe and played around with it based off of what was in my kitchen to create my recipe below.

200 grams of linguine, cooked to the package instructions
2 zuchini
1 chopped onion
3 cloves of chopped garlic
2 cups sliced mushrooms
1 chicken or vegetable bouillon cube
1/3 cup mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup of ricotta cheese
2 cups baby kale (spinach would probably work, too)
fresh pepper

1. saute the onion and garlic for five minutes. Add the chopped zuchinni and mushrooms and cook covered for five minutes. Add the bouillon cube and stir. Add the kale and stir. Add the mozarella cheese and cover for two minutes to melt it. Stir in the cooked pasta along with the ricotta cheese. Serve with fresh pepper.

Leave a Reply

