This morning, my 63-year-old father emailed my sisters and me to let us know that after a decade of unuse, our piano was tuned, most of its strings and parts replaced, and he decided that he was going to take up piano lessons. My father is stoic-looking man who only expresses shy smiles and intimidating stares in public, and carries himself with the gait reflective of his military school background. To anyone who doesn’t know him the way my family does, he’s a stern, strict man with traditional Filipino values. To us, he has the heart of a teddy bear, the determination of Ben Hur, and the romanticism of a teenage boy writing his first love note. Reading that he was learning how to play the piano made absolute sense for me – a man who wishes he had the voice to play Les Miserables’ Marius would play the piano; it was another inspiring reminder to me that one never needs to stop learning, to stop becoming even more the person you wish to be, the person you are in your deepest soul.

There are moments when I get lazy and it’s easy to fall into the rhythms of my daily life. I read magazine articles and post photos that inspire me to get out of my rut, but it’s nice to have someone right in my family, a few decades older who looks and sounds a bit like me, reminding me, too. In honor of learning new things that I’ve always wanted to try, I made crab cakes last night, and for the most part followed the recipe on Epicurious, though I added a few ingredients.

However, honestly, it wasn’t that great. Maybe I added too much lemon and maybe I should do regular bread crumbs instead of panko, but I remember crab cakes being savory and a little bit like the awesome part of fishsticks. Does anyone have any good crab cake recipes to share that I should try instead?

crabcake

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon Worchestshire sauce
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice plus wedges for garnish
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Old Bay Seasoning
  • 1/2 jalapeño, seeded, finely chopped
  • 1 pound lump crabmeat, picked over
  • 1cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs), divided
  • 1 tablespoon thinly sliced chives
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • flour, for dustingWhisk first 7 ingredients in a medium bowl. Add crab; fold to blend. Stir in panko, chives, salt, and pepper. Divide into 6 equal portions. Form each into 1″-thick patties. Refrigerate for at least 10 minutes. Line a platter with lettuce leaves.
    This can be cooked either by dusting some flour around each crab cake and deep frying for three minutes on each side, or baking in an oven at 400 degrees 15 minutes. Arrange atop lettuce; serve with lemon wedges.
Comments
  1. Ate Tina says:

    I loved this….. Our dad is the sweetest.

Leave a Reply

