Moroccan chicken stew with couscous

Posted: October 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

The last week had been a series of failed attempts at cooking Filipino dishes. I even made lumpia, watched youtube video after youtube video before I attempted my favorite so-called-easy dish, and ended up with this creature:
lumpia

So finally, today, rather than try to go back to my roots, I went the other direction and did as the Moroccans. Honestly, I was looking for an excuse to use my new and fabulous Dutch oven – my baby blue Lodge enameled cast iron. I’ve never had one before, and read many reviews before I opted for the less expensive Lodge over the Le Creuset sitting next to it at TJ Maxx, and I’m happy with the choice. Based on reviews, both work equally well (so long as you follow directions) but my Lodge will give out in about 3-5 years, whereas the Le Creuset will be able to be passed down to my grandchildren. Since I’m a young sprig not yet thinking about my tomorrows, I happily chose the Lodge.

I followed this recipe for the most part, and of course, added some more spices and cut the broth by 1/2 cup. Like most stews, this tastes better a few hours later.
cous
1 tbsp oil
1 onion, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, minced
3 tbsp brown sugar (I added this because the recipe usually calls for raisins, and I hate cooked raisins in my food. I figured the sugar would add the sweet kick the raisins would have usually given the dish)

1/2 tsp turmeric
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp red pepper
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp coriander
2 bay leaves
5 chicken thighs
3 1/2 c chicken stock
1 16 oz can diced tomatoes
1 green pepper
2 cups matchstick carrots
1/2 tsp salt
1 can of chickpeas (I didn’t have any and used Northern beans instead)
4 c hot couscous

In a Dutch oven, heat the oil. Saute the onion, garlic, then add all the spices and bay leaves. Add the chicken thighs and stock and cook in medium-high heat until boiling. Bring heat down to simmer, covered for 25 minutes. Add the rest of the ingredients (minus couscous) and cook covered for 15 more minutes. Serve over couscous.

couscous

Comments
  1. KP says:

    Another yum-yum.

Leave a Reply

