Chicken pot pie

Posted: November 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

When it starts getting cold, my body starts craving fat. It’s true. Daylight savings time rolls around, and suddenly every recipe I make has either cheese, butter, or cream. I don’t fight the craving (though I probably should) and so every winter my clogged arteries make me more lethargic, and I’m in bed by nine pm. Thankfully, last night, a friend made an incredible tuna pot pie and surprised us by letting us know that her creamy goodness barely had more than a tablespoon of butter…which led me to the website “Skinny Kitchen.” Usually I’m very suspicious of any cooking blog that advertises itself as “skinny” because it sounds deprived, and frankly, I don’t like thinking about my body image when I’m eating; I think it’s healthier to see food as fuel and if you make good choices about choosing good fuel, then the body will follow. However, this recipe was surprisingly delicious and I didn’t feel deprived of either taste or creamy texture. Plus, I’ll happily try anything that’ll allow me to guiltlessly indulge in my favorite comfort foods!

I followed this recipe, and made up for the fact that I didn’t have flour (which the recipe called for) and used cornstarch as a thickener instead.

potpie

  • 3 cups Swanson’s reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1½ cups onions, chopped
  • 1 cup potato, peeled and cubed (½ inch cubes)
  • 1 cup sweet potato, peeled and cubed (½ inch cubes)
  • 1 cup carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup celery, sliced
  • 1 lb chicken breasts (boneless, skinless), cut into bite-size pieces
  • 1½ cups frozen peas (not defrosted)
  • 1 cup reduced-fat milk
  • ½ cup cornstarch

Biscuit

  • 1 cup Bisquick
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Pour the broth into a pan and heat until it starts to boil. Add all the vegetables and chicken and cover for 15 minutes.

2. Take out the chicken and vegetables and put in a 9 by 13 casserole dish. Meanwhile, whisk milk and cornstarch together, then stir into the broth. Cook for five minutes, or until it starts to thicken. Add to the casserole and mix it with the vegetables and chicken

3. To make the biscuit, stir the Bisquick, milk and egg, then pour on top of the casserole. Bake for 35 minutes.

Comments
  1. Nancy Fox says:

    Thanks so much for sharing my recipe Myra and Jimmy! I’m so happy you enjoyed it. Looks like the changes you made still worked great. I love your photo!

    All the best to you,
    Nancy

  2. KP says:

    Going to try it next weekend.

Leave a Reply

