sauteed mushroom and spinach

Posted: November 13, 2013 in brunch, Vegetarian

Other than clothes (and even shopping for those have slowed since working in a home office), I’ve never been one to care for acquiring things. I never understood the point: I looked for things that served a purpose, no more, no less. In college, my older sister was horrified when she came to visit and saw that I was using a plastic pail (like Jack and Jill who went up the hill) to hold my toiletries. I tried to convince her that it worked just as well as a college bathroom caddy; I just had to tip it over to strain out the water at the end of my shower. “Plus, it was two bucks.” I pack so lightly for work trips because I don’t own a hairdryer, a neck pillow, and whatever else people pack into their rollerboard for a two-day trip. The last time my mother came to visit, she remarked that it was fun cleaning my studio apartment because I didn’t own enough to make clutter. My daughter, the soldier, my father likes to say.

And then I started this food blog. Suddenly, I just WANT things. One recipe calls for a pastry blender and even though I didn’t know  it was a hand thing, not a motorized thing, I WANTED it. I have to have that dutch oven and it has to be enameled. I want stainless steel pots to replace our scratched up Teflon that I suddenly fear will give us cancer. I have an opinion about Le Creuset and Lodge. Who have I become?

The lesson here is that where once I used to think that housewives or homebodies had simple pleasures like me, I have instead found that the kitchen finds many ways to inspire consumerism. Take what you want from that reflection as I introduce my next creation, which I hope, next time, will be prepared in my brand-new cast iron skillet I bought yesterday on Amazon.

Ingredients:

portobello mushrooms, chopped (or crimini mushrooms)
1 chopped onion
3 cloves of minced garlic
bunch of fresh spinach

Heat 1 tbsp oil in a skillet. Add the onion and garlic and cook on low-medium heat for 20 minutes to caramelize the onions. Add the mushrooms and cook another 10 minutes covered. Then add the spinach, cover again for 5 minutes. Stir and serve with eggs for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

