pasta al diablo (pasta with shrimp)

Posted: December 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

I was back in my beloved New York a few days ago and met with some friends who had either recently moved out or still live there. Returning to New York always starts up a conversation about the pros and cons of living in New York. Pros: the city’s alive all hours of the night; incredible friends; feeling as though you’re alive and have something to do. Cons: the subway commute, feeling claustrophobic, New York transplants think that being rude is their new “New York persona” even though native New Yorkers are actually quite lovely. I’ve never been one to make pros and cons lists, especially when they don’t ultimately change the end result, but they’re fun conversations to have anyway. I doubt we’ll be returning to New York any time soon, and I don’t miss the city, but when I come back, I get this light happy leap in my chest as I think that I’m glad that I spent much of my 20s there.

Tonight’s dinner – a shrimp pasta dish – was fantastically easy to make and looked fancy because who makes shrimp nowadays?

shrimp

 

angel hair pasta
one can diced tomatoes
1/2 pound raw shrimp
basil
oregano
dried parsley
chopped onion and garlic
red pepper flakes
one cup spinach

Chop the onion and garlic (I like sticking them in a food processor to have it do the work for me). Heat in a skillet with shimmering heated oil. Mix in the basil, oreganoc and dried parsley before adding the tomatoes and cook for five minutes. Toss in the shrimp until it’s starting to turn pink, at which point you add the red pepper flakes. Cover with spinach. When the spinach wilts, turn it off and mix in the cooked angel hair pasta.

Leave a Reply

