chicken bibimbap

Posted: January 15, 2014 in Korean

I’ve developed a bad habit of reading cookbooks before going to bed. The practice began innocently enough, starting off with the resolution to read more in general. But after I got depressed from reading about Brown vs. Board of Education, tired of being shouted at by feminist theory, and slightly bored by evolution,  I found myself reading Smitten Kitchen, then the Kimchi Chronicles, and most recently floating off to Turkey with Jaime Oliver’s Food Escapes. I love reading cookbooks. In my faux leather sofa in the perfectly vacuumed room, I can smell the red pepper flakes, taste the cumin, wince at the pickled radishes. I’m in heaven, bathing in spice. Then, I am back in my den, enormously hungry, ten minutes before midnight. There goes my diet (laughable diet, I have no discipline). What was I craving? Buttermilk pancakes with a side of chicken curry and kimchi. Instead, I have to face facts: It’s time for bed and the only thing we have in the kitchen are toasted almonds and dried rice. Tonight’s dinner is my defense of late-night cookbook reading: the perfect dinner of chicken bibimbap, full flavored and happy.

chickenbibimbap

 

(serves 2 very, very generously … probably made for four)

– 1 cup cooked rice
– cooked chicken
– one cup grated carrot
– 2 cups chopped mushrooms
– 1 small package of chopped spinach

for the sauce:

– 2 tbsp gochujang sauce
– 2 tsp rice wine vinegar
–  1 tbsp sugar
– 2 tbsp sesame oil

– Mix all sauce ingredients
– Fry the vegetables and chicken in different batches. Season lightly with salt
– Arrange the vegetables and chicken on a bed of rice and serve.

Leave a Reply

