chicken curry sandwich

Posted: February 4, 2014 in Indian
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Sandwiches don’t usually excite me. When I hear that we’re eating sandwiches for lunch, I don’t wail, I don’t jump for joy. Generally, I shrug. It’s a rare moment when I have one that makes me smile, and think, I can’t wait till I have that! I was 11 when I first had  a chicken curry sandwich at an airport in Saudi Arabia and I thought it was the most brilliant thing I had ever gotten — not because I thought the idea of a chicken sandwich was mind-blowing, or that it tasted like God’s gift to humanity, but because it seemed like such a natural step up from the regular cheese-and-turkey that I wondered why we ever bothered to make sandwiches so boring at all. That, and if anyone has ever been to any airport in Saudi Arabia – regional or international – you’ll understand how the dearth of choices makes ANY good choice a welcome surprise. Regarding food, Saudi Arabian airports like to fulfill the stereotype that in a desert, nourishment of any kind does not come easily. (This is not actually true; I have had some of the best-tasting food, meat, and milk in Saudi Arabia that I have not tasted elsewhere – go figure). So today, is that sandwich, fused with some American flair: with nuts and dried cranberries.

cinnamonraisinbread

(serves three)

2 boneless chicken thighs, chopped and cooked
1/2 cup roasted almonds
1/4 cup roasted chopped walnuts
1/2 chopped apple
1/2 cup craisins
2 tbsp curry powder
pinch salt
4 tbsp mayonnaise
1/2 tbsp lemon juice

Mix them all together and stick it in the bun of your choice.

Comments
  1. KP says:

    Oh, yum! You just gave me flashbacks to my favorite summer in Oxford. My favorite sandwich was chicken curry with mango chutney in a baguette. I’m going to try this next.

  2. myracof says:

    You should add mango chutney to the mix – that’s what the craisins were trying to replace. I didn’t have any chutney so I switched it up with craisins to give the bite of sweetness.

Leave a Reply

