cinnamon raisin bread

Posted: February 4, 2014 in brunch, dessert
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So this has become my new delight: waking up on a Sunday morning to pore over a recipe that I bake rather than stuff into a casserole dish, and watch it rise in the oven. Breads are like magic to me because I love that the rise on their own, before you’ve heated them up. I wasn’t sure it would rise that well in my chilly kitchen, what with Michigan’s polar vortex,  but read a trick that all you have to do is heat your oven to 200 degrees for five minutes, turn it off, and then stick the covered bowl with the dough in there to let it rise for the right amount of time. It worked like a charm and I delighted in watching the dough puff up with air.

cinnamonraisinbread

And of course, the gorgeous moment of cutting into the bread to see the delicate swirls of cinnamon raisin:

cinnamonraisinbread

The best part about this recipe is that it isn’t chock full of butter or sugar the way I noticed most cinnamon raisin bread recipes are, yet the bread didn’t turn out dry or tasteless. I followed this recipe word for word.

Comments
  1. KP says:

    I want this for my birthday.

Leave a Reply

