Heavenly coconut cake

Posted: August 9, 2014 in dessert
Tags: , , ,

cake

By now you know how much I love cake. I have opinions about cake, bakeries, and cake flavors the way other people have opinions about buying a Dell versus a Mac, a ball point versus ink pen, or Delta over American Airlines. Cake is just something I happen to care about.

So it should surprise no one who knows me well (or at least those who read this blog) that during the wedding planning process, the one thing I was most excited about was getting a delicious wedding cake. I didn’t care about the aesthetics, just that it would taste good. Because I would be nowhere near the bakery or our wedding site until the week before the wedding, my mother-in-law and grandmother-in-law went to the patisserie for a taste trial, and they said that the best cake there was the coconut cake with chocolate ganache covered in almond slivers, so that’s what we chose.

I have been dreaming about that cake since my wedding.

Until my wedding, I did not realize how light, delicate coconut cake could taste and I’ve been searching for the perfect recipe – not too sweet, not too coconut-y, but just a hint pervading throughout. I found this incredible recipe from Epicurious, which I paired with the following frosting from youtube.

The verdict: Indulgent and delicious, one to please and impress. I used unsweetened coconut cream I picked up from Trader Joe’s and I still think I could have cut a 1/4 cup of sugar.

Comments
  1. KPS says:

    That makes me want to eat cake. WOW, lady. GANDA!

Leave a Reply

