eggplant rigatoni

Posted: September 26, 2014 in Italian, pasta, Vegetarian
Tags: , , , ,

Let’s face it: I’ve been lazy. While the cooking continued at a nice, creative pace, the writing stopped, and I ran to eat dinner before I had a chance to snap a photo for the blog (hence this sad excuse for a blog post sans photo). I had to post, though, because I didn’t get this from an online recipe and I was afraid I’d forget the recipe in a month when I wanted the same nutty Italian taste. So here it is. While I don’t have photo to show as proof, take my word for it: it was awesome.

eggplant rigatoni

– 1 large eggplant
– one medium yellow onion
– one red bell pepper
– one 14.5 oz can of tomato sauce
-half cup of ricotta cheese
– one cup toasted walnuts
– half box of small pasta shells
-three cloves of garlic

servings: four generous servings, six moderate servings

– Roast the eggplant, onion, and bell pepper in an oven for 30 minutes at 450 degrees. In the mean time, cook pasta according to package instructions and toast the walnuts.

– When the roasted vegetables are done, toss them in the blender with the walnuts for until pureed smooth.

– In a pan, heat garlic in a bit of oil until lightly yellow, then add the pureed vegetables and can of tomato sauce. Stir until combined, then add the ricotta cheese, and finally the shells.

– Serve hot!

Leave a Reply

