Vegetarian shepherds pie

Posted: October 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

From cuisine alone, I sometimes think I should have been born Irish. I freaking love potatoes, all potatoes, any way cooked. Jimmy, on the other hand, who is half Irish by blood, stares down potatoes as though he’s disgraced by them. We couldn’t have had a more flavorful vegetable as our staple? I look at potatoes and I think, that was the Irish staple because the British starved the Irish.

Well, whatever your opinion on potatoes, I love them mashed most, so shepherd’s pie is an automatic comfort food to me. This version is vegetarian since I can’t stomach beef (yet – my New Year’s resolution is to introduce beef back into my diet before the year’s over), and I think it tastes just as amazing as the real thing.

IMG_3147.JPG

IMG_3146.JPG

Boil three large potatoes in boiling water for 30 minutes. Drain, then mash with three tablespoons of butter, 1/2 cup of milk and 1 cup of parmesan or cheddar cheese. The cheese is optional, but I’d only opt out if you’re lactose intolerant or don’t believe in flavor.

Then, saute one diced onion, three diced carrots, three minced garlic cloves and two diced celery stalks in a dutch oven on medium heat for ten minutes. Add 250 grams of lentils, one quart (four cups) of chicken stock, 1/2 cup of red wine, and two tbsp of tomato paste, and cook on a simmer for 30 minutes. When the lentils are soft, pour into a 10 by 10 pan, then top with the mashed potatoes.

Put the pan in an oven heated at 425 degrees for 20 minutes, then serve hot!

Leave a Reply

