Quenelles – French chicken dumpling soup

Posted: October 28, 2014 in american

 

First of all: how cute are our napkin holders? I was slightly lukewarm about not getting pewter napkin rings (the Martha Stewart in me, I suppose), but fell in love with these animal ones the moment I opened the box.  They’re the size of my fist, a nice weight, and make any tablescape (yes, I said tablescape) look instantly quirky and playful.

Thanksgiving is coming up and Jimmy and I have decided to save the money and stick around Michigan for it, instead of flying back to the East Coast to be with family. However, what was initially a practical decision has turned into an exciting one – it’ll be our first holiday spent together, as a family unit, and I couldn’t be more thrilled. We may even host a post-Thanksgiving dinner of our own (T-Day is already going to be hosted by a friend), so that we can break out our wedding china, and have friends over around our table for a harvest feast. While I hadn’t expected to make family unit decisions so early in our relationship, particularly since being one of the youngest siblings in my family means I usually just go with my older sister’s decisions, I am excited to be doing something so grown up.

So for today, I’m posting a twist to the chicken noodle (or chicken and dumpling) classic I posted a week earlier: chicken dumpling soup, French style, adapted from Rachel Khoo’s recipe.

IMG_3239

 

To make the chicken dumplings:

– 200 grams of boneless chicken (I used thighs, but breasts are fine, too)
– 1 tsp nutmeg
– five slices of white bread, with the crusts removed
– 1/2 cup of milk, plus two tbsp of whipping cream
-one egg and one egg yolk

To make the soup
– eight cups of home made chicken stock
– three diced carrots
– three diced spring onions
– one cup of chopped mushrooms
– two black cardomoms
– one star anise

 

Put all the soup ingredients to a  pot and bring to a boil. Meanwhile, stick all the chicken dumpling ingredients in a blender and whirr until it turns into a paste. Using two teaspoons, rocket a teaspoon of the paste between the two spoons until it turns into a golfball shape (the video I linked above shows this well), then drop it into the soup. The dumplings are ready in three minutes, when they’ve risen to the surface. Serve hot.

 

 

Leave a Reply

